godconnectbook

God Connect: Daily Renewing Your Mind, Body, and Spirit

The Valley of the Shadow of Death

on February 26, 2012

“Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.”  Psalm 23:4

Sometimes our circumstances in this life make us feel like we’re literally walking in the valley of the shadow of death.  The paths we’re on seem uncertain and it seems unlikely that we’ll ever find our way out of the valley.  Although we may be tempted to be afraid, it’s in our best interest to look to God instead.  When we’re walking in the valley we’re not alone, He is with us.  Not only is He walking with us, He is leading us.

Just as the shepherd leads, guides, and protects His sheep by using his rod and staff, God is our shepherd and with his rod and staff He comforts us.  The Lord is our Shepherd and the Lord is our strength.  Psalm 18:2 says, “The Lord is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and horn of my salvation, and my high tower.”  Even in the valley of the shadow of death when you can’t see the way out, God is there, and He knows the way out.  How sweet it is to know that you’re walking with Him, the deliver!

Today I challenge you to delight in God, the horn of your salvation.  Rely on Him to lead you out of whatever grim situation you may be facing.  In turn, you will find the strength, comfort, and leadership of the Shepherd.

“Be merciful unto me, O God, be merciful unto me: for my soul trusteth in thee: yea, in the shadow of thy wings will I make my refuge, until these calamities be overpast.”  Psalm 57:1

Leave a Reply

