godconnectbook

God Connect: Daily Renewing Your Mind, Body, and Spirit

Seeking God

on February 11, 2012

“I love them that love me; and those that seek me early shall find me.”  Proverbs 8:17

I love this promise in Proverbs 8:17.  It brings so much satisfaction to me to know that God loves for me to love Him and to know that when I seek Him I will find Him.  Seeking God is not always an easy task.  It requires discipline and responsibility.  It takes a commitment on your part.  Although seeking God requires effort, the benefits are definitely worthwhile.

The experience of growing closer to God and developing an intimate relationship with Him is awe-inspiring.  The deeper sense of peace, joy, love, and focus God gives you when you draw closer to Him is overwhelming.  He will strengthen you and build your faith and trust.  His promises are more meaningful to you, and every word He says is captivating.

You may be wondering how you can experience this deeper relationship with God.  Seeking God does take work, but it is enjoyable work.  Set aside a special time to spend with God each day and adhere to it.  This is your own special time, so make it personal.  You may want to begin with prayer or dive right into the Word of God.  A daily devotional book or Bible-through-the-year plan might help to keep you on track.

Don’t just rush through your time together, but be still and focus on what God is trying to teach you.  A prayer journal might be helpful to keep track of your prayers or to jot down what you sense God is telling you.  Choose a spot that you can relax and be comfortable as you meditate upon God’s goodness.

At first you may find that it all feels like a routine.  However, the more time you spend with God, the more time you will want to spend with Him.  Seeking Him will no longer be a routine, but will soon be the most treasured moments and highlight of your day!

“And I will give them an heart to know me, that I am the Lord: and they shall be my people, and I will be their God: for they shall return unto me with their whole heart.”  Jeremiah 24:7

Leave a Reply

