godconnectbook

God Connect: Daily Renewing Your Mind, Body, and Spirit

Your Whole Heart

on January 21, 2012

“Blessed are they that keep his testimonies, and that seek him with the whole heart.” Psalm 119:2

I think it’s easy for us to say we’re trusting God and relying on Him for guidance in every decision in our lives.  But if we really get down to it, are we?  For the past few months I’ve been really seeking God… for His guidance, direction, peace, and comfort.  Despite my efforts to grow closer to Him, I still hear Him saying to me, “Give me your whole heart.” Maybe you’re in the same position today.  You may be waiting on God to answer a prayer or give you direction, and you’re wondering why you haven’t been seeing results. I will challenge you, just as God is challenging me, to give Him your whole heart.

Even when I’ve felt like I was giving Him my whole heart, I’ve found that there was a little part I’ve been holding back.  Depending on your circumstances, maybe you’ve been holding something back, too.  Pride, fear, or desire of control can often hold us back from giving our whole hearts to God.  Fear has been a factor for me lately.  Sometimes I fear that if I relinquish the control of my whole heart I will get hurt. However, God addresses my fears (and most likely yours too) in Deuteronomy 31:6 when he says, “Be strong and of a good courage, fear not, nor be afraid of them: for the Lord thy God, he it is that doth go with thee; he will not fail thee, nor forsake thee.”

Just as God reminded Joshua of this truth in Deuteronomy, He is reminding us of the same simple truth today.  Isn’t it comforting to know that He will never fail us nor forsake us?  The times when I’ve given my whole heart to someone in my life, they’ve always failed or forsaken me.  Whether it be in a small way that is easily forgotten, or a great way that scars you for life, people will always let you down.  But God… He promises us that He will never let us down.

Today, as I lay aside my fears, insecurities, and skeptical attitude, and give my whole heart to God, I challenge you to do the same.  I’m certain that we will find it to be worthwhile.

“Fear not thou; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.”  Isaiah 41:10

Leave a Reply

