godconnectbook

God Connect: Daily Renewing Your Mind, Body, and Spirit

Making Excuses

on January 16, 2012

Exodus chapter 3 tells the story of Moses encountering God in a burning bush that was not consumed.  God spoke to Moses and instructed him of His plan for Moses to deliver the Israelites out of the hand of the Egyptians.  Even after a personal encounter with God, Moses tried to make excuses of why he would not be suitable for the job.  He started by saying in Exodus 3:11, “Who am I that I should go unto Pharaoh, and that I should bring forth the children of Israel out of Egypt?”  God responded by promising Moses that He would be with him.  Moses didn’t stop there, though.  He continued to make excuse after excuse of why he wasn’t good enough.

After just encountering God and seeing the miracles He performed as signs for Moses, we find it a bit silly that Moses would continue to question God’s calling and authority.  Yet, how many times do we find ourselves in the same position today?  We sense God calling us to do something, but instead of faithfully obeying God and trusting His authority we find ourselves, just like Moses, making excuses.  Why would God call me?  I am not good enough.  What if I fail?  What will I say?  How will this change my life.  I can’t do that!

Today I challenge you to lay down all of your petty excuses and trust God.  He knew what He was doing when He called you.  He has a plan for you and wants to use you.  No… it’s not a mistake.  God called you!  Has he ever failed you before?

“I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.”  Philippians 4:13

Leave a Reply

