godconnectbook

God Connect: Daily Renewing Your Mind, Body, and Spirit

Casting Your Cares

on January 10, 2012

This life is filled with uncertainty.  We never know what a day holds.  Fear, stress, doubt, worry, and other emotions cloud our minds.  We let the burdens we carry and the stress of our busy days wear us down and tire us out.  Then, we try to continue running with little energy and a lack of motivation for what’s truly important.  Although we become exhausted physically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually, Jesus offers us hope in Matthew 11:28-30 we He says, “Come unto me all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls.  For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

This verse has been an inspiration to me when I felt so exhausted I thought I couldn’t press on.  Jesus offers to take our burdens and to give us rest.  When we accept His offer, we find that He gives us the comfort, peace, and rest we are longing for.  Then, we can re-focus our lives around serving Him instead of trying to carry the load we’re struggling to bear.

My challenge for you today is to cast your cares upon the Lord.  Let go of the burdens that are weighing you down, whether it be physically, mentally, emotionally, or spiritually.  In turn, you will find the sweet refreshing of the Spirit and experience the peace, comfort, and joy of knowing that He’s always there for you.

“Humble yourselves therefore under the mighty hand of God, that he may exalt you in due time: Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.”  1 Peter 5:6-7

Leave a Reply

