godconnectbook

God Connect: Daily Renewing Your Mind, Body, and Spirit

Delighting in the Lord

on January 7, 2012

“Delight thyself also in the Lord; and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart.  Commit thy way unto the Lord; trust also in him; and he shall bring it to pass.” Psalm 37:4-5

This is one of my favorite passages of scripture.  It weighs heavily on my heart and mind today as God reminds me that He wants to give me the desires of my heart.  He truly cares about me and wants the best for me.  Just as a father wants the best for his child, God the Father wants the best for me.

God is more than willing to give us the desires of our hearts, but first He asks us to delight ourselves in Him, commit our ways to Him, and trust in Him.  Although that sounds simple enough to do, sometimes our human nature gets in the way.  We let our pride and self-sufficiency keep us from truly committing to and trusting in God.  Our ambition and plans for our own lives keep us from delighting ourselves in the Lord and getting excited about the plans He has for us.

Just as God is challenging me, today I challenge you to trust in Him.  Have faith that He has a plan for you and will work it out.  Focus your heart and mind on God and not unto the ways of the world.  Draw near to God and wait patiently on Him. In turn, God has promised us that He will give us the desires of our hearts.

“Draw nigh unto God, and he will draw nigh unto you.” James 4:8


Leave a comment