godconnectbook

God Connect: Daily Renewing Your Mind, Body, and Spirit

Listening to God

on January 3, 2012

For the majority of my prayer life, I’ve spent my time praying to God.  I thank Him for who He is, and praise Him for what He’s doing in my life.  I confess my sins to Him, and ask for His forgiveness.  I pray for myself that He will guide me, or that He will comfort me and heal me.  I pray for others, that they would follow God or come to know Him.  I know that He hears my prayers and knows the sincerity of my heart. However, I’m beginning to learn that prayer is not just about pouring your heart out to God, it’s about communicating with Him.

Communication is defined as the interchanging of thoughts.  It’s not just about pouring out your own thoughts, it’s hearing what the other person has to say as well.  When we pray, we must also take time to listen to God.  Proverbs 2:1-2 says, “My son, if thou will receive my words, and hide my commandments with thee; so that that thou incline thine ear unto wisdom, and apply thine heart to understanding.” God desires to give us wisdom and understanding, but first we must take time to listen to His words and receive them.

Today, I challenge you to incline your ear to God.  Be still and listen to what He has to say to you.  In turn, you will grow in wisdom and understanding and begin to know Him more intimately.  “For the Lord giveth wisdom: out of His mouth cometh understanding.” Proverbs 2:6

Leave a Reply

